How do I get my Temps? My license?? And what is Driver's Education all about???

Q:  How old do i have to be to attend Stanley's class?

A:  15 years and 5 months at earliest

Q:  How old do I have to be to obtain my temporary permit?

A:  15 years and 6 months at earliest

Q:  What time does class start?  &  Where are the classrooms held?

A: Class times vary depending on the location that classes are being taken. See times on "Classroom Locations" page.

Frequently Asked Questions!!

Q:  How many hours of Drivers Ed is required to obtain my license?

A:   24 Hours of classroom time is required by the State of Ohio. In addition to 8 hours of Behind the Wheel instruction with one of our state certified/licensed instructors.  The 24 hours is distributed over 8 days of class time, (Monday through Thursday)  and each of those classes being 3 hours in length (traditionally).

Q:      How long do i have to finish Stanley's driving program?

A:   The student MUST be 100% completed with the program with in 6 months of the first day they began the classroom portion.  See below for State regulations

Driver’s Education Regulations:  Ohio Administrative Code =OAC (OAC 4501-7-09-8) ) All training as required in this rule and rule 4501-7-10 of the Administrative Code, provided by the enterprise shall be made available to, and completed by, the student within six months of the first date of training, unless mitigating circumstances occur. Mitigating circumstances include health and family issues that disrupt the student's ability to receive training. Mitigating circumstances do not include the inability to schedule training due to parent or student elective or extra-curricular activities, such as sports and school clubs. Those mitigating circumstances shall be documented in the student's record. Requests for special circumstances not listed to be considered as "mitigating" shall be requested through the department. If no mitigating circumstances are approved, training will be voided and the student shall re-take the training.

Q:      After my teen receives their license, what are their restrictions?

A:  

During the First 12 Months of Holding a License

May not operate a vehicle from midnight - 6 a.m. unless:

  • Accompanied by a parent or guardian

  • Driving to or from work with documentation from the employer (see form BMV 2825)

  • Driving to or from an official school-sponsored event or a religious event with appropriate documentation from the event official (see form BMV 2826)

May not operate a vehicle with more than one non-family member as a passenger unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Driver and all passengers must wear safety belts.

Driver may not use any mobile devices, including phones.

A conviction of a traffic offense within the first six months of having a license may result in a parent or guardian having to accompany the driver for six months or until the driver reaches age 17.

After the First 12 Months of Holding a License and Under Age 18

May not operate a vehicle from 1 - 5 a.m. unless:

  • Accompanied by a parent or guardian

  • Driving to or from work with documentation from the employer (see form BMV 2825)

  • Driving to or from an official school-sponsored event or a religious event with appropriate documentation from the event official (see form BMV 2826)

Driver and all passengers must wear safety belts.

Driver may not use any mobile devices, including phones.

Multiple traffic convictions before the driver’s 18th birthday may result in a license suspension. For alcohol-related convictions, the driver license will be suspended for at least six months (see Ohio Revised Code 4511.19).

A:

~Have Temporary Permit

~Certificate from Stanley's Issued on day of final Behind the Wheel lesson

~50 Hour Affidavit Form

(Filled out & Notarized)

Q:  What is my Drivers Exam day checklist??

Q:  What happens if the student cancels a lesson or does not show for a scheduled lesson?

A: If a student were not to show up for a lesson, not have the required Temporary Permit, or cancel INSIDE of 24 hours of their appointment time. There will be a $50.00 Late Cancellation Fee that must be paid by their following lesson.

**If a student cancels a lesson Outside of 24 hours, there is NO $50 penalty for the cancellation**

Q:  Is there any way to practice for my temporary permit test?

A: Yes! Click the link below to get to Ohio's Practice Exam.

Q:  How do I set up the Maneuverability course?

A: Click the link below to pull up our How To youtube video!

© 2016 by Stanley's Driver Training, Inc.

  • twitter
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Facebook Social Icon